The Fire Safe Council of San Diego County (FSCSDC) honored community Fire Safe Council volunteers for their exceptional service in the area of wildfire prevention at the 13th Annual Volunteer Awards Ceremony. Held on June 14, 2018, this annual event honors those volunteers who go above and beyond in keeping their communities fire safe. Run exclusively by volunteers, the 38 community Fire Safe Councils in San Diego County work closely with fire agency representatives to identify risks and carry out projects to address those risks. Representatives from CAL FIRE, US Forest Service, San Diego Fire-Rescue, San Diego County Fire Authority, and the Bureau of Land Management were keynote speakers at the event. In addition, representatives from a number of national, state, and local elected officials were on hand to present certificates of recognition to the honorees. Fire Safe Council President and Lakeside Fire Chief, Don Butz, presented the 2018 awards to:

  1. Project of the Year: 

Scripps Ranch Disaster Preparedness & Awareness Outreach, Scripps Ranch Fire Safe Council

In recognition of the outstanding volunteers working to increase interest in creating disaster emergency plans with High School Students.  

  1. Volunteer of the Year:

Bob Uribe of the Potrero / Tecate Fire Safe Council

For your dedication, collaboration & tireless service supporting Fire Safe Councils throughout San Diego County.

  1. Outstanding Community Fire Safe Council:

Greater Valley Center Fire Safe Council

For your efforts to educate and protect your community from wildfire, through information, events & agency collaboration in developing an evacuation plan.

  1. Outstanding Leadership:

Mike Shoecraft of the Rancho Peñasquitos Fire Safe Council

For exemplary leadership in community risk reduction by focusing on educating the community on wildfire disaster preparedness detection in the Rancho Peñasquitos area.

  1. Agency Award:

Bureau of Land Management & Rex Hambly

In recognition of their renewed outreach efforts to assist Fire Safe Councils in saving lives, property & our environment.

  1. Special Recognition Award:  

Greg Schreiner of the San Diego County Fire Authority

In grateful appreciation for years of leadership & service to the Fire Safe Council of San Diego County and dedication to keeping San Diego fire safe.

“Community Fire Safe Councils and the volunteers who run them are a vital piece of San Diego’s wildfire prevention efforts,” said Sheryl Landrum, Vice President of the Fire Safe Council of San Diego County. “I am proud to say that there are more community Fire Safe Councils in San Diego County than any other county in CA. They are the ‘Neighborhood Watch’ for keeping San Diego fire-safe, and we are thrilled to recognize their significant contributions to wildfire prevention.”